vaneigem's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BUNS OF STEEL


I'd like to get Platypus started up again this summer. THe organization is gaining a lot of momentum in the States considering its increasing alliances with the SDS, which I think is pretty cool despite their considerably watered-down radical politics (even compared to the 60s). There is really not much going on in Cnaada and I'd like to step it up. Ryan seems a bit slackery just as I am on the organization, but I have more free time on my hands than he does. Our only obstacle was finding a solid space to gather. It's a little funny how all space is owned by something or someone or has something in it or on it or passing through it. It will be easier to find space in the summer- we can meet outside in a park rather than relying on coffee shops that give us anxiety about whether or not we will have space for all of us to sit. Alos, it's a bit strange talking politics and revolutionary sorts of things around normal people in a coffee shop. I do need to read more fiction than theory i think, but I will try to do both.

This morning I ate some chocolate chips and did pilates. I did that yesterday, minus the chocolate chips,a nd this time was harder because all of my muscles were sore. I feel good so I'm happy I'm doing it. I think it would be cool if people in workout videos would stop trying to smile and just let the fuck go and start growling with scrunched up faces. If anyone ever tells me to smile when I'm working out I will work my fist out on their faces.

Last night Cassie had a bunch of people over. Carly was talking about her first experience with mdma at some club, and then one of the weirder girls was like "Whoa sounds like it's a place where you should do the candy flip" and I said HUH and she was like "Oh, it's when you take acid and ecstasy together"

This quiet silence swept across the room, followed by nervous laughter, me looking vrey WHAT THE FUCK and cassie saying "OH! Well! Um... well then." and we were all like in this awkward silence where no one knew how to move forward with the conversation. I guess she mistook our rare behaviours as usual and got a little too ahead of herself. This girl knew all the characters's names from Willy Wonka nad the chocolate factory and started talking about this amazing book, like, the most amazing book in the world, totallllyyy, so I was like "Who wrote it?" and she said " Oh... I can't remember" .
She looks 20 but she's 28 and married.

Yesterday I learned how to make the Buddha, the dish at fresh. It is fucking nutso amazing, I will post the recipe later.

My Brazil shoes snapped.

Last night we rolled a fattie and then ate grilled summer squash. It was pretty amazing. You brush that shit with oil and cayenne pepps and then grill that shit up and life will be good. I've found an improvement in my mood and energy just from eating more greens and things. I've stopped doing coffee every morning and only do so either as a treat or if I really absolutely have to get up and be chipper at a completely ridiculous hour. I think coffee is a pretty excusable thing for everyone these days, though. I assume that from July - August at my new job , coffee will be my morning life blood. When I was teaching I really needed it too. Dolschan is really weirdly energetic unless he drinks doppio espressos all day like Geoff.

Carly moves out soon and I'm a little bummed. I know Ashley will fit in here fine but I guess I'm a little nervous about the annoying people she might have over who I'm not into, or one of those sitautions where her and her boyfriend sit infront of the TV all day. II don't want the demons of cable and supernintendo to demolish my peaceful den of books and magazines. I'm quite happy that we don't have tv and/or cable. It is cool and chill.

Chris is on this situationist thing and he has bene writing in it ever I started reading about situ stuff, when I was 15 or 16 I guess. He wrote something recently about how so-called resources like the internet are increasingly making private issues public, in the personal sense, and public issues private, in the political or economic sense. I mean it's a pretty obvious point but he was talkinga bout how that fits inwith detournement and I guess it is kind of strange. I'm tired of typing in this and don't want to type all about it. But basically it coincided with this other thing I recently saw in an interview with Lydia Lunch and just about how it seems more and more is being created to steal our time and energy. Even the idea of convenience is stealing more of our time and energy. I think in some ways it's not so much a conspiracy, but it's definitely at least being encouraged for political purposes. "Leftist" (if that exists anymore) conspiracy theories are often just isolated, sometimes irrelevant ideas. I'm pretty sure that there's a reason why the deficit / the war / recession(right?!) and the ascendency of neoliberalism work hand in hand. George Bush is working up a debt not to raise taxes, which he specifically refuses to do, but rather as a means to destroy social security and the welfare state. Or what's left of it. Actually, "what's left of it" has existed for over a century now and he's proposing to do away with it. The states is moving NUTSO backwards and most people aren't aware of some of the shit that is going on or how it will affect their families. I know some people hate hearing about this stuff just like I hate hearing about stocks and bonds and shit. But it's just fucking insane is the point, assholes.

I need to go shopping but I hate it. I think other women look at me weird because I'm such a huge scuzzbag sometimes.

FIN

8:12 pm - 04.23.08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: