vaneigem's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LIGHT FISHER

Well before I start this off I'd like to say first that I had seen that skateboarding dog awhile ago, but not until today did I actually see the video. It made me x982 happier than this weather, which is tough competition. Okay, let's start. I'd like to share with you a delicious potato dill salad recipe.

INGREDIENTS
2 lbs potatoes, boiled and cut into 1 inch cubes
2 tblspns xtra virgin olive oil
1 medium red onion, diced
5 garlic cloves, crushed
1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup unpasteurized honey
1 bunch of fresh dill, coarsely chopped
1 tsp sea salt
freshly ground black pepper (lots)

DIRECTIONS
Throw the potatoes in a nice looking bowl. Heat oil on medium in a saucepan. Throw in the onions and garlic, saute' until translucent. Add yr vinegar, honey, dill, salt/peps, saute another 3-5 mins. Pour this dressing over your potates and toss to coat. Add more whatever to your own taste. My roommate cooked salmon, cut it up and tossed it into her salad!!!! THAT"S LIFE! DELISHY
I'm going to make some for Sunday I think.

So it's been awhile, I've been meaning to write in this for awhile.

Basically I'm pretty confused that everything works out for me in life most of the time.

On Wednesday night I went to my first orientation at OISE. I was a little nervous about it for some reason. We have to pick cohorts. So basically all students learn 3 super foundational courses but differnet cohorts look at those cohorts through a different lens. I am trying to get into the social justice/global connections. It is the obvious match for me. But basically once we get accepted, we have to apply AGAIN to get into these cohorts so I just finished my stupid fucking application. I'm so sick of proving myself in writing how amazing and worthy I am of this fucking school!

Anyway, I made a friend named Chris, a girl, and we had really weird commonalities and kinda stuck to each other so it was cool. Basically the school is amazing. The second presentation (for my second cohort choice) had the most fucking amazing instructors. They were like motivational speakers and had so much energy. So if I dont get into my 1st, then at least I'll get amazing instructors in my second choice. The first instructor looked like Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman and she was so gentle and sweet sounding and I felt she needed a little more POW. Punch. Kick.
But whatever-

Bernice came to visit me and I had a good day. We basically shopped all day and I got a nice tshirt and two pairs of sunglasses and another pair of tiny navy triangle earrings that I had lost last year. We ate at Utopia and she loved it. I am always nervous to take bernice to places to eat because she is such a Foodie and I'm not really at all, I go for what's good within my limited frame of cheapness and health comfort. We went on an adventure to IKEA and she has no concept of North, South, East, and/or West. I, on the ohter hand, have impeccable sense of direction. That said, I also have impeccable sense of when someone is feigning certainty. Bernice was feignign certainty. We got lost, and walked into Ikea at 8:58 literally. We popped in the doors and did the most incredible speed shopping I had ever experienced. It flashed before my eyes. We did it and we didn't even get icre cream cones at the end.

I saw this crazy Richard Kern video today

Last night I went to some Ryerson art show and then afterparty. I stopped at Geoffs since we got dinner last night and his roommates pulled me with them. Dolchan (sp?) (Dull-shawn is how its pronounced) is hilarious, I think I love him. THe art show was okay I guess. There was one thing claled St. Homosexual. The thing after kinda reminded me how old I am I guess. I ran into this guy who was in love with me at Innis and asked me out on dates everyday and it was totally painful and funny.

Went to Joanne's on Monday and it was nice. We ordered Indian food and chatted for a few hours. She was talking a lot about marriage and shit and people getting married and her friends dating and how she thinks they'll get married, and married marriage marrying by the marriage chapel to maryland. holy shit!!!

What about the thingy-things? I guess lately I'm reverting back to a lot of Fugazi and the summer weather I brought out Black Flag's damaged, but I feel I need something a little lighter.I'm into this new band called Weave, I'm not sure if I mentioned in my last one or not. My goal today was to find a bunch of new amazing music that is happening NOW because that is really the most exciting type for me. Instad I went to Roncesvalles again and wnet to my new favourite coffee shop. It seems largely undiscovered I guess or maybe I just go at quiet times. The music they play is perfect and non-distracting. I'm reading a lot of feminist theory again after a weird lull. I find it very uplifting and empowering I guess. I should relaly always be on top of that. I also got an awesome job as a Design Instructor which is NUTS. I will talk more about that later. Now that I"m living in Toronto I'm really into looking at home related things and need to paint my room like whoa! and get new light fixtures! How the fuck do you install a new light fixture? Who da fuck knows.


11:37 pm - 04.18.08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: