vaneigem's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

FOUNTAIN POP

MUSIC: Embassy Tapes, Nation of Ulysses

The song California Dreamin is fucking freaky eerie to me but so childhood-ish. Childhoodishnessy. It reminds me of being eight years old and looking through all my dad's stuff including his freaky detective / crime books which is when I learned about Charles Manson and it really freaked me out but it was really fascinating in some strange way becuase my dad was always this mysterious mad guy I could never talk to and was too afraid to talk to about anything. I remember getting my sister to ask my dad stuff like to put the heads of my barbies back onto the barbie bodies because i was so afraid he would get angry. I always knew there was an interesting side behind him though and once I heard him sing Strawberry Fields in the car and it fascinated me. I still remember that moment. It is one of my earliest memories. ANyway later he was listneing to this badn '(the mamas and the papas) and it was craz y to think that MY FATHER could "like"(!!) and feel moved by MUSIC. so these songs are very powerful to me due to these kinds of connections. to think my mum and dad grew up together in the 60s is so cool. i get chills up my spine when i hear music from this era. i am afriad to listen to it too much.

My mom came to visit yesterday. I had to go outside down Bloor to help her find Shaw and like wave her down. While waiting on the street I attempted to phone Geoff and couldn't get a hold of him. Finally I found my mummy and we went down Shaw. She usually brings me fresh fruits, laundry detergent, and some sort of body/bath present when she comes and she did this time. She is such a good mom and I really apprecaite my caring family so much. I think working with these kids lately and being reminded how many parents don't give a shit about their kids, it makes me appreciate the massive amounts of support i got at home. Not that my childhood was perfect. She was meeting Geoff that day and she gave me a nice lecture about relationships... we have never talked about the subject before. I thought it was interesting what she said and it really helped me a lot.

Anyway, we had lunch with Geoff and it was no more nerve wrecking and awkward as these situations typically should be expected ("boyfriend meets mom for the first time"). But all things considering, it went really well. I am REALLY glad that we finally did that, and Michelle's wedding was a good push. I noticed geoff's little hands shaking and gave him a secret little squeeze on his knee. My mom is good with talking to young people so I wasn't too worried about it. It was just really nice and valuable to have her visit and to have that motherly/comforting conversation those few hours. I have been having a rough time this week and needed it.

Now listening to : Bruce Springsteen, "secret garden"

My roommmates are turning out great. We have had a couple of semi-drunken table conversations over the past few days and I think we feel a lot more comfortable now. I'm glad that things are progressing in that department because I've felt really lonely and isolated being so separated from my roommates when I'm used to be so close to the poeple I live with. We have two mice, C. and I have named them "Hall" and "Oates". I'm not too phased but I'm more interested in researching creative ways of trapping them. Oh well!!!

I made a new friend. It is Stef, who I spoke about before. I decided to call her up and we rented movies at this cool place on Baldwin. We went to her parent's fucking AMAZING house full of amazing beautiful artwork (painted by her SISTERS.... prodigy children). Holy shit. Anyway we went up to her fucking cool room (the whole 3rd floor). Her room is like a living room and bedroom in one. It is so cool. We ended up not even watching the movie and basically told each others life stories until 2am! We talked until 2am. It was really cool. I biked home and ran into geoff's friend anthony who is really nice. When I went to Stef's tonight her sister/sister'sboyfriend watched blades of glory with us. I didn't like them very much. The movie was pretty funny but a lot of the humour was homophobic.

I ran into Alexis on the street. Alexis' boyfriend's parents found out about his sexuality and removed him from school, from Toronto, and now they're borken up. Apparently he is headed to some sort of monastery. Alexis is heartbroken and I feel so horrible for him. He is also in extreme pain due to recent wisdeom teeth surgery. Alexis is so great... I told him to phone me if he ever wants to hang out or talk. That makes me so angry. I could understand parents being a bit shocked, because so many parents are old and big losers. First of all , if parents are that super crazy shocked of their 21 year old's revealed sexuality, I don't really think they've been paying enough attention for the past 21 years. Second, it baffles me how so many traditional Catholic families have no compassion, understanding, love, or acceptance and instead only judge and exclude. I can't imagine the trauma and shame one is put through when they are treated with such rejection just for revealing who they are, after bottling it up for so long. It makes me really angry that people are so selfish.

I am seeing Meghan soon, who is preggers. She is so naturally beautiful, it blows my frigging mind! Kelly and Nick have had their lil babe, so I'm going to meet him soon. I'm going to buy a little outfit. I think Jesse Axl is down from Spain also, so it would be good to see him.

Jimmy's birthday party was nice. It was good to see a bunch of people. I wanted to talk to Dan more about school but I didn't get much of a chance. Allison was so great to put all of that together for him. You can tell how good of a friend and how selfless she is. I left early so Colin and I biked home because I was really tired. Colin had on a cute outfit. I was able to tell him how much I liked his performance, I felt bad for not saying anything after the show. I was in a bad mood that night. Didn't get to talk to Jimmy much which sucks. I get the impression ove rhte past year that he is kind of whatever about our friendship now which really bums me out. Saw muika Miko and I liked them a lot. I liked the energy of their performance. They are all hot babes too which helps. The phone singer and drummer are esepcially big babes. I find girls with some extra meat on their bones, AND are just really comfortable with it, to be hotty hot. But the durmmer walked by me before and smelt of B.O. It was funny because she looked so nice. Also I remember airel pink smelly really bad of b.o. too. Like im talking just horrible, horrible bad bad body odour, worthy of note. I gues sthat's what happens when you're on tour. I began thinking if I was on tour, if I would eventually start smelling like that too. I decided that I wouldn't.

Music now: camera obscura.

I am tired and don't feel like typing anymore. I have more to say about projects. Tomorrow I am starting a map of a book I recently read. There is a journey involved in the book, at swim-two-birds, I am going to do kind of the story of Sweeny + Finn , well my interpretation at least. It is going to be very fantastic , in the literal sense of the word. I think I am going to do something similar for meghan as a gift, except for her favourite book, the grapes of wrath.

Gabe is lending me his bass I think which would help. With music, not the maps. I'm tired. Geoff and I just had a nice late night talk. I recently saw an interview with Will Oldham, who I find to be the least charming person of all time, big time award of 2007 to that guy. It is the soft ofcus interview. I couldnt help put myself in ian's position and change the interview setting into a date setting and think about how nightmareish that would be. He has a nice voice though.

TIME TO CLOSE EYES NOW.

2:09 am - 08.29.07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: