vaneigem's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

knitting is for losers

Last night was Jimmy's art show, it was good. Pretty much everyone I love was there except for a few of the buddies. I was especially happy to see Allison and I guess everybody in one setting. Geoff came which was nice of him.

I got kind of jealous later in the night at the after party, but luckily I didnt make a drunken ass of myself and girlfriends and fun was also there to distract me. I was probably shooting some knife eyes though but no hatin. Anyway I guess it takes me a long time to get over boys or maybe I never will get over the worthy good ones. The endings that suck the most are the ones where nothing bad hpapens to make them end. Anyway it made me kind of sad though but that's selfish and kind of stupid, I shouldn't be hung up on those things. But I'm glad I said what I said a long time ago. ANYWAY holy shit JEL. That sad genuine kind.

I'm coughing like a hack and being sick sucks. Today I was kind of hung over, in addition to being really sick. I wanted to get a lot of homework done but there was no chance in hell. Watched The King. All the critics said it was bad but I wanted to see it for myself and i actually kinda liked it. heehaw. I went on a few dates with a guy from school last year for a bit that looks kinda like him I realized, I thinkt he jawline. Well it was one of those things where you hang out but youre too afraid to be all I like you. Went to buy shit for Steph's baby thing tomorrrow which annoyed me, only to be surprised that my roommates planned a girls night in with hilary duff movies and princess fruit jello snacks. in the shape of princesses. and mini coca colas and dunkeroos. i didnt have any of that junk food but it was funny.

I kind of wanted to write more but I have to go to bed.

Kind of freaking out about school.

Oh I tutored this new kid Joshua yesterday. I think Leonard was jealous that I had to pay attention to someone else. Leonard is my favourite though. I should tell him that well maybe not the best idea. But anyway Leonard brought his drum sticks to our session and he brought this book he's reading to show me! He's so cute. But anyway, the new kid Joshua was really like one of those bad ass kids that sits at the table with his arms crossed "Dont got no homework." etc. It ruled becasue at the end I got him to do all this multiplication and he was smiling when he was getting them right because I was being super enthusiastic. You just have to be positive but genuine and realistic. Super excessive positivity doesn't work, kids don't buy it. This stupid bitch supervisor was there and she was such a bitch to all the kids. I hate her officially. Im sucking up to her though because she's sort of my boss and I can probably get a reference letter out of her. I'm going to fucking work my thang to get into this shit hardcore and get recognized. Emailed some schools and Buffalo looks perfect but is really expensive. W�ll see. It's my back up if I only get accepted really far places or none at all. And there isn't much choice.... It's comforting to know I got a good plan. I'm thinking of buying a car actually, it would actually make A LOT OF SENSE if I went to buffalo for school. I wouldnt have to take the bus, easily travel to my teaching placements, could come home on weekends, go on road trips, bring geoff with me, etc. I'm thinking about it. I got some inheritance I can spend. Was thinking of Boston too. Further away, though. It's really only for like ... 4 months though, if you dont count your placement so I shouldnt be too hungup on i guess. I was thinking today how happy I am that Ive made this decision. Granted it's really what I want to do , but it's alos not what I want to do. I love music and culture and film and exciting shit like that. But this it he decision ive made. I dont wnat to get in the music or film business, it's not the type of lifestyle i want. I also want a family and be able to be there for my kids like my mum was for us. I think teaching is really perfect for me. Secure, routine, pension, health care, good hours, super fulfilling, summers off is an added bonus though i dont think about that and it really annoys me when people go into teaching for that reason, and if I get my masters in education (takes only 4 months), i get piad wayyy more per year. Teachers get paid pretty good money eventually if they stick with one job. I think there is that myth of poor teachers. I'd be way poorer trying to get buy in film. Project to project not knowing whats going to come next. Thats a thrill for some people but for me I can't stnad not knowing if I"m going to be able to eat and I dont think it's fair to my family to not be able to guarantee that either. This career stuff has just been consuming my mind.

ANYWAY SLEEP.

12:50 am - 01.28.07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: