vaneigem's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Days

Feeling kinda low lately. Weird things come up in my mind out of nowhere. It's a subconscious thing. It's retarded.

Walked down Bloor today to go to the mall. I like the mall. Makes me feel good about myself. I get to look at a bunch of people and remember not to turn out that way. Comforting. There is a strip, pretty much all along Bloor, of bars. They all look the same. Guys getting drunk at 6am. Every morning, day, and night is the weekend. Smells like losers. They're calling your name--- "We're drinking Coors. Come on in. The lights are low and the losing's for free. Losers winning the loser game." Chuga lug, losers. Sometimes drinking really bums me out. I look around. Some people in my life do it over 3 times a week. I wonder if they'll be those people in the bars on Bloor street. There's a guy waiting outside the Travel shoppe on the corner of my house, nervously dropping and picking up his match book, over and over. He looks like a typical dad. He's waiting for drugs like the rest of them. Shaking in your booties over chemicals and plants... Hilarious.

People obsessed with fitness are no different. I am really into being healthy and exercising lately. But when it totally consumes your life and thoughts... what a joke. That's survival. No shit you shouldn't eat cheeseburgers. I dont think anyone needs a pat on the back just cuz you worked out for an hour today. Big deal. Chained to the treadmill, controlled by ginseng-- hilarious. So privileged and trivial. It's easy to crticize, though. It's cool if that's your niche. Not mine. They're the people in the mall and the people in the bars. People who are funa nd can talk about other stuff but are still healthy are the primest of the premium sort.

On that note, working out makes me feel good. I feel like shit if I don't now. That's good-- I'm getting hooked. Eating fairly good except that cheesecake I ate a couple night ago. As expected. Need to get super healthy so I can have babies. I was diagnosed last year with something that might make it harder for me than you to have babies. Hasn't bummed me out yet too much. I'm sure it will later. I got a book about it, it's all about ways to counteract depression for some reason. I don't get depresssed. I get sad sometimes.



Had a good day. "Healthy happy relationship and fuck all of the time." Talked to Jenny last night at 2:30am or something crazy like that. Had a nice conversation. Felt really good after talking to her. I'm happy to have such a good friend. I can tell she cares about me. She's real cool. Really different from me but we really get each other somehow. I have a lot of respect for her.

Bruce Springsteen parties were all in the name of jock culture back in the 70s. I never liked him until I started listening earlier this year. But now I realize it's a real loser revival. Bruce Springsteen is old. I'm sick of revivals. I want to hear new shit that's happening now. Mika Mikko is good shit that is happening now. They are the new fucking Raincoats. I still like Phil Collins. Saves the day is pretty awesome. I'm just providing some frame of reference for easier judgment.

I want to do big things. It's that simple. I know I will do something huge. It might happen when I'm 25, 30, or 45, or something. I don't know through what medium. All I know is that I'm meant to make something big though that will influence people. Well, not meant, but it is something that I want at least. That's all. It is my measure for success. I am dissatisfied sometimes when I think about it. 98 on a test? It's just a silly test. I don't really think of things that way. I'm just trying to continue with the bumming tone of my diary entry. I don't know! Film?? Music?? The way my life is going, maybe it'll be music. Film you have to depend on a lot of people to make it. I don't like to depend on anybody. In life you can't depend on anyone. Maybe I'll be able to depend on a guy sometime. Geoff is the closest Ive been to depending on someone. Maybe Bernice more. Never completely though.

Actually, today was good. I hung with Jenny and Srdjan. Talked to Bernice, covered the Sunday Superficial basics of my week with my parents, talked to Matt, and Geoff, and all is well on the Crawford front. Calling Emily later for drinks. Wish I had a nice hang out, a place that was mine and my friends'. My aaprtment isnt good for gatherings. You have to buy stuff when you go to a restaurant. Whatever.

I'm excited to tutor tomorrow. I can't describe how I felt last week after finishing the session. The best is when the kid walks away smiling. That is the best feeling. Granted, he's probably just happy that his tutroing sesh is fucking over finally. But I don't know. I'm passionate about this. It felt fucking great last week. I was scared as hell- What if I dont like it? Then my career is fucked. I went in without any pretense or expectation. I promised myself that if I hated it, I would allow myself to realize that. What a joke that is. Hating teaching would never even cross my mind. Feels real good. I get teary eyed just thinking about it. That's passion right?

Anyway, gonna make some phone calls and listening to some good stuff. This girl called Exene. It's real good. I like writing in here, makes me feel more organized. I get to confine my experiences into little paragraphs. Cute. Sure like living herea nd with my roommates. We have a nice comforting home. Sometimes it's messy, but we all get together and have fun in the most trivial situations.

I'm doing an art show at the college. Not for myself, really. It''s sort of my response to my university experience. They really drill a lot of shit into you and slave you to a shitty schedule. It's good and disciplined. BUt people have no time to be creative. There's no creativity in university curriculum. It's worse than high school. In fact, university is a step down I think. I want to see hard work applied to all aspects of life. Art and things like that. No quotas, no bullshit. Should be good. Trying to figure out how to keep away the macaroni artists and the evanescence girls that draw bleeding girls with long black hair underneatha red tree or something. Season of death. Dying. Breathing. That type of poetic shit.

Whatever, bring them on. We're all human. Life tastes good. Portland sounds like a nice place to live.. Mountains and city. I want to live in a place with more nature than Toronto, some place more beautiful and inspiring, but the same type of culture and fun shit going on. I really like this girl in my class and the things she says. I think shes from some place like Lithuania or some shit. She talks about magic and feeling magical. It's Magical. Magical is a very magical word. Magic magicians doing magic talking about magic being magical. Good sentence. BIE

10:04 pm - 01.14.07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: