vaneigem's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LET ME BE ME

Whoa! Did you know Adrock and MIke D are in MIA's paper planes video? In the rare case that you have been off Planet Earth for the last couple of months, it's in the video. I only really saw it for the first time today after coming upon some really cute video of diplo and mia.

My week has been packed full of going out doing social type of things. I doubt I will be able to remember everything but it'll probably be a nice change from talking about moving to an island and about witches and shit in my head.

Tonight I ended up seeing this band called the Teenagers with Geoff. It was some Social event so it was all thsoe Social-y kids. I felt a little old but it's possible that I just have an inflated sense of my own maturity. Tends to hapepn when you teach high school kids at age 23. The band was pretty sucky, but I mean they were cute for what they were. (KIDS!.) kidding!! wait, i mean--! JOKING!!

Today we spent all day litearlly walking around the city. Around it. Normally I love this activity, but it was cold. Cold. I complained about myself at length because I'm stupid to wear my cream cons in the Winter. No matter how hard I try, I always find myself smack dab in the middle of Winter Fashion Denial Hell. Winter Fashion Denial Quick Sand Pit to China. Or wahtever.

On my way to meet Geoff, there was Matt, michelle's ex boyfriend and basically my brother from ages 14-17 or however long they dated. We had a pretty long talk. It was real cool. I really like Matt. But he really does not have his shit togeths in any which way. You gotta love the guy for it. It was a nice convo, but I was meeting Geoff on the street and had to jet.

We ate brunch and then I bought Aesthetics and Politics at Pages. It is a collection of Adorno, Walter Benjamin, Ranciere, Brecht (eee!), and Lukacs. It's kinda weird to spell Lukacs without the accent, huh. It was an impulse buy.

I kind of question sometimes my grad work, going into Education, instead of a Masters in Political Science. But I will do that later. It's on medium-high on the backburner. Education, on the other hand, is boiling at the front and there's more of it roasting in the oven until next year. Ha ha ha hahah!!!!!!!!

So yeah I got the book, right. We went to Urban Outfitters because Geoff wanted to get some (what ended up to be) nice shoes. I wanted to check out any sales. Geoff buys shoes like socks. Later on I began thinking about how if Geoff were a girl he would be the most fashionable hottest girl ever. I look downat my cons, and my black tights and some salt had gotten on the bottom of them, and the same coat that I wear everyday and I kind of laugh at myself. I kind of want to get more fun and creative with it again, if there ever was an ever.

THEN THEN, On Friday Geoff and I went to Circa! Let me tell you, it was fucking hell on earth. It's this new nutso club that opened up downtown and has like 5 floors and plastic bunnies on drugs as chairs and multiple rooms dozens of djs with art installations etc on Friday nights. I dunno, something like that. There is a dress code to wear bright colours / costume / or stylishly. We got guestlist and didn't have to wait in the forever-line. The owner came and talked to us and we got in free. There was some girl in a thong-insanity-suit thing in a glass box whipping chains at you. The bathroom even has its own fucking dj room. THat place is like 15 clubs in one, and my opinion on it is that it's just too too much and it's full of the weirdest mix of people ever. It's way too much. My mind was running a mile a minute and my eyes had no idea where to move. Geoff and I left and he said it's something that we finally experienced, "like getting the flu shot," and that's how it was. We got the flu shot alright. I was thinkiing I'd be into it if Geoff and I came with a bunch of fun people and the goal of the night was to get really fucked and fuck shit up. I'm not sure though. It's hell on earth when you want to get out and can't find your way out!

We stopped by the Beaver before that, it was Jackie's birthday. The birthday of Jackie! I haven't seen that lady in forevaz. We stopped by 1130ish though and it was a bit early and she wasn't there. Hoped to go back, but effing circa wiped me the fuck out of my mind and I went the fuck home!!! I really haven't seen much of those dudes lately !

Oh on Thursday I saw the Orphanage with STef. I had no idea what hte fuck this movie was, and didn't really care. It was creepy. Stef and I screamed out loud twice. After the movie we talked about tons of shit. We had deep philosophical conversations in a booth.

Last night Jenny was supposed to call me. We were all going out and she said she would call when they would all leave,and 1;30 rolls around and I'm drawing and realize what time it is like what the fuck. I was annoyed and hurt to have bene forgotten be honest! There was someting else going on with me that night also that I wanted to keep my mind off of, which is why I wanted to go in the first place. That happening kind of escalated what I wanted to keep my mind off of and it was shitty, but, hey, Life. It's life. She wrote "I'm sooo sorry" in a txt and i was thinking "yeah you better be biatch!!!!!" at first, but no way I love her and whatever shit happens. Cest la vie comme ci comme ca.

Well I have a lot of work to do on: my 2 new lectures (ANNNOYING), music, readings for my course. it's okay. I guess I will stop procrastinating and do more of the annoyin gshit (lectures + school) so I can spend the rest of it all for music. I am dying for that fucking drum machine, I found one that i want and is pretty good. They run from $50 - $400ish depending on how lucky you are. Now I'm confused. I had narrowed down my project a few days ago but now I don't want to just do that one thing. I feel now if I want a certain feel and sound, then I can do that for one song. But then can I completely change it up and let it be me instead of having to keep that general feel and sound run consistent throughout an album for album's sake? Let me be me. I'm trying to experiment more with sampling which I dont really do much of,and I find is rather uncouth to do too much of, such as 2PAC's version of "California Love" which is pretty much ripped off from legendary Zapp & Roger. But a little bit here adn there can be a fancy thing.
oh speaking of heres the paper planes video. Adrock and mike d are at 2:50 giving a rolex to MIA yo!!



I miss sleeping while it's raining, or during a thunderstorm. I miss thunderstorms. I miss colour and flowers. I want a cat and a puppy and I want for them to be friends. GEoff walked me home and we held hands thru my gloves and had a nice chat about some issues and I feel better now and we hugged and kissed and he walked me home like a sweet man.

3:44 am - 01.28.08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: