vaneigem's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I WIPED OUT MY GENERATION

I have watched way too many episodes of My So-Called Life tonight. The show is briliant in the most mediocre of ways. I was thinking about it, and everyone had a rayanne in their life. Mine was Bernice. I was the quiet good girl always getting involved with the badass girls but staying good because my parents were strict and i was terrified to be bad but sometimes, rarely, i was anyway. Then there was always that stray kid who got kicked out of their parents' house and was staying over at someone's house, which was always Bernice's house.

Last night I went to Jenny's and we all hung out. Jenny made it seem like we were going to have this big fun get together. So I skipped dinner and biked there. (Then i had to bike back because i thought i left the oven on.) When i got there she was totally moody and went to bed a half-hour later. i felt awkward to be there. We watched The Hills which is so brainnumbing it makes you feel good. I hate heidi and i have always hated heidi. I'm glad someone told heidi where to go; she is obviously a horrible person. i feel very passionately about- HEIDI.

I listened to Geneva's band's new song which is a madonna cover ("whos that gilr?") for this new cd. coming out that a bunch of other bands are on. They do one of the most underrated popular madonna songs in my opinion (Because the video sucks).

This girl Melanie is scary. Ifor everything you do. she really judges every little thing people do or say. It can get exhausting. A week ago, I ran into her on my bike but I was in the middle of an intersection and biking with Geoff, so I didnt want to lose him so I waved and smiled. She wrote on my thing that she was "surprised" to see me "whizzing away" after I apologized and that I was in a hurry later. Jeez! People need to cut people a break. Im always weary of poli sci students because they tend to be self-righteous. This sentence leads me to something new going on...

Ryan H. asked me to join this leftist reading group and I was really kind of whatever about it, because I thought it would be stupid and reading really irrelevant stuff, or just a place for fat rich white guys to talk about how oppressed they are. Well Ryan sent me the reading list, and they seem interesting. It's a bit too formulaic/ Marxisty, but it seems there is a lot of room to not be a Marxist and still get along with everyone. Basically I think this group believes that the current state of the Left will eventually become a n ew political "Right" of sorts. This idea is stupid. If anything the "new left" will eventually become a new political Apathy. Or a new political materialism. Perhaps that's what they mean by "new right." Commodification. I do not know. The women's section is a little tokenistic (hello, marxism!)... "Women are a marginalized group" kind of thing. There's absolutely no credit or responsibility involved in statements like that. But all the more reason to come to the group and barf about it.

So many people don't know how to argue about politics. You can look at the View as an example. THey have no idea how to argue about politics. It is embarrassing. Beyond unprofessional... it's elementary. A lot of Leftists get too passionate and it becomes a joke to the people who don't get it. Mostly beuacse there's actually passion there to be passionate about, it's directly and predominately people-oriented. But that's not going to translate in the political arena. Passion is important. Let's say if you need to argue for a certian policy in a very administrative, bureaucratic setting. Passion does help, actually.

But it should never be THE driving force. Ian does pretty good here but he infuses his passion into all of his arguments. He gets flustered and says " this is insane." when you are in a state of passion, you can't see everyone's incentive. So it's also quite ineffective. Which is really frustrating for me. So many people with amazing minds and ideas let you down because they don't get the proper training. It's best to get into the other peoples minds (whoever is in power) and twist it. That's why the highest positions of power are where they are. They are protected by strategic subtlety and creepy mind games. I don't care about that, that's boring. But to claim the left will become the new right is a lame conspiracy theory.

12:27 am - 09.19.07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: