vaneigem's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

The girl who I have been living with for 4-5 days is 26. She works at a bra store (granted, a pretty cool one), and got her mom to hire her movers. Regardless, her poor old mom is here helping her move. WTF? 26 years old and you still have your mom helping you do that kind of shit, let alone actually calling people for you. Wow. She is fairly nice though, just really high strung.

Yesterday meredith left. it was sad. It was real nice of her to help me lug some of my stuff over. I didnt ask for help at all, and it wasnt that much. She came over for a bit and helped me research cell phones. I think I'm just going to get whatever, because everything is equally unappealing. ANyway that was real nice of her. I will miss her. It seems whatever, but now that I think of it, we have actually lived together for 3 years. That's a pretty long time. I have grown to embrace her most negative sides. heh.

Feeling more comfortable in my house. Carly is chill and good. I wish I wanst right in the middle of exams. I can't wait to be done.

I have to type out an answer. Then I'm going to grab lunch and then tutor Leonard/Adriano. Then grab a coffee at Nova on the way back. I'm excited to see those kids again. We're hvaing a big graduation on the 2nd, the whole program. All the kids, their parents and their tutors come. It is goingto be really cute. I havent been too up on the administrative stuff of teaching. Like I'm really bad at doing attendance and keeping on the progress reports and shit but whatever. I'll try to be better at that next year. I really love it though. I am really dreading working retail and all that shit, if I have to. I want to be a teacher now. I don't want to work these retarded hipstery boutiquey jobs. Not only am I overqualified for them but they do not interest me at all. I might apply at Winners again out of ease , though the TOronto stores make me sort of depressed. If I cant get something that will benefit my goals in teaching or anything that I'm qualified for, then I just want something easy non-snobby and pleasant. Why make retail stores seroius? I would hate to work at like... good foot o rsomething. I like the store but I think I would get sucked into that. I don't want to find meaning in that stuff, I'm almost scared of getting sucked in. Retail is like a drug. It is fine that people work it, especialyl if youre driving towards fashion or marketing or something, but all I'm saying is that's jsut not where I am going. It's so easy to swing into retail but I actually want to work for a meaningful organization or something that "contributes to the benefit of society"... on a larger scale. Can you believe that people actually work to disable landmines? That is just nuts. Half a million innocent people die every year over landmines left from conflict and war in different countries. Landmines are basically like bombs, embedded in the ground and pretty undetectable. You could step on one and get randomly blown up while walking to get water or something. They are still about in over 70 countries and they are just fucking retarded. If I learned onet hing in the past 4 years is that governments are psycho. Anyway, there are all these amazing organizations that work to go into fields and disable the landmines, totally risking their own lives. I would love to do that if I were that selfless.

Jobs jobs. yeah yeah. Whatever. When it comes down to it, I dont really care. I just want money and a work environment that is fairly decent.

SO yes I have to get on finishing my history question and then get back for 5, do another until 9, then another for 3am. YIKES. work work work.


1:18 pm - 05.01.07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: