vaneigem's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Time with my Girl, I spend it well

Aye.

This week has been nuts. Getting two papers done was in and of itself a task. I"ve been stuck here 24/7, and on top of that the art festival at innis was there. I've learned a lot so maybe i'll talk about that first.

so i finished my paper at 4, slept until 9, handed it in and ran to the icss lounge to do the titles and build the easels. We eventually got everything put together. jenny put up most of the wall, which was waht I was worried most about, so that took a lot of weight off my shoulders. It was nice having her around to get another opinion. Geoff lent me Steve Reich's box set, and I played #8 (different trains + electric counterpoint + three movements). i hadnt pre-listened, but it ended up working out.

IT was 4;30 and hardly anybody was there and i was freaking out. But within the half hour or hour it started really filling in. Way more poeple came than I would have expected, because I didnt have time to really promote the event or anything on top of Paul's shitty organizing skills. On to the topic of Paul's shitty organizing skills...

ANyway lots of pepole came, including friends i havent seen for a LONG TIME including everyone from the film fest happening next door after my show. I had to stay with the art but I managed to get a few peaks of the films. I ended up meeting a guy who also does films and we exchanged contacts. He said he wanted to work with me. I noticed they played Alison k.'s film, which kind of confused me because I thought they could have gotten some people from innis or from our own film department. C. came, who had put in a film and brought 12 people to come, and they didnt even end up having " the time" to play his film. A. was pissed. I would have been pissed too. They choose to pay Alison's film who if I'm not mistaken is from UTM. like the point of this show was giving people in our community some acknowledgement and recognition.

that the art world is this vicious cycle of glory upon glory upon legacy upon glory. granted, it's not like they played super big artists or anything but this was supposed to be an ics.s thing. and the fact that someone with 12 of his friends came out disappointed really sucks.

but um, i was kind of in competition with these people. they begged for me to have the show with them, under our name, guilted me to not promo my event separately but as a joint event with them, yet they promoed theirs separately from their little clubhouse.

so that in mind, the fact that my show panned over a lot better kind of made me happy. i met a lot of the artists i had never met and it was cool. i took a lot of their pictures with their art. everyone kept coming up to me saying they were so impressed and had no idea that some of their friends that were in the show even did art. there was some stuff there that i didnt like, but there were a few things i really loved. and the show wasn't about my taste or my preference. at first i was kind of worried like man do i even want to do this, i know i am going to get shitty shit but who am i to even say what is good and what isn't?? fucked.

so anyway, on the topic of paul's organizing skills, we had to close the show at 7pm or so because he waited too long to book the cafe and the torionto's story tellers association or something had it booked. i was pretty annoyed with that, because they wanted me to move my stuff and were demanding rather than compromising. there were a lot of old people and i was just like hanging out. but then this woman came up to me and started talking about the show and how great it was etc. she told me all about this association and how they go into schools and promote children story telling and she told me all these inspiring stories. people just come out get up in front of people and tell stories. about anythign... most is ancient folklore, i heard some icelandic folklore and myths etc. it was actually really fucking cool and complimented the show relaly nicely. something that i considered an interruption turned out really great. and i met all these really inspiring people.

it was especially cool to meet a guy doing film because i really want to start doing that again. it was also nice to see josef again. he is so humble and kind. anyway, the event was stressful but fucking great and that's the end of it.

oh, john and his girlfriend showed up. i fucking hate his girlfriend. she is oen ofthose huge fucking lame girls whose hero is the girl from GHOST WORLD, aka the shittiest movei to have ever been made. she is just a huge snooty fucking bitch. i know that is really mean, but she really just is. i try to be nice to her, and she just does this thing with her hair and is just like all about rolling her eyes and laughing in this removed way. ugh i hate her. would it ever occur to her to have at least a low degree of good manners. i just hate that stupid bitch. she struts aroundl ike she is queen hot shit. get your hair out of your face i hate you. snoot it up to sluts ville.

i was kind of sad geoff couldnt make it out because i was really proud of it and worked really hard and i kind of wanted to show it off to him. but he had to work so it's not his fault. and he came by at like 9pm or something which was sweet.

what else...

school is done, i just have exams. yesterday was shitty. i got in a fight with geoff and was just tired and stressed and had a big headache. and everything was just overwhelming. when you work really hard at a few things and then they both end abruptly, it's kind of like this depressing " what now?" thing. about essay, art show, university, etc.
this time of year freaks me out because i equate it to a time when everything ends and everyone leaves. and I dont deal with change well so it bums me out.
i came here for school. and now it's over. so i'm kind of like... what the fuck now? i know where im gonig in terms of my career, pretty much, but where and who and when ... eeeps. kidn of overwhelming. i've prepared for this feeling, the ultimate joy and quick depression that comes after graduating.

i think geoff is mad at me for not coming to his dj thing last night. but im just really sick of all that. i dont want to be surrounded by that anymore. sometimes i like going to them but lately i just dont watn to be around that type of crowd. i really see no point in all that.

i'm very snobby i guess. i feel that i am better than most of the people at those clubs. that i have better priorities, more important things to do, more important concerns. not in the inherent sense, but just in my own world. i'm a big hypocrite just like everyone else.

the other part is that he said a bunch of stuff to me yesterday that really hurt my feelings and i just felt really down all night from what he said to me. not in the sense that it was to spite him, but more in that i was just really bummed out.

anyway we are leaving for montreal tonight! now i have to figure out places to stay on top of doing a bunch of other stuff because he waited last minute to get that AA apartment, but it never worked out anyway so. ugh boys can be so incompetent at getting things together and planning for stuff. i am trying to get everything covered because i know geoff is going to just grab some underwear and b elike lets go. which is romantic but i am more high maintenance than that. especially when im on vacation. this isnt a backpacking trip i want this to be a nice vacationy sort of trip where i dont have to sacrifice my sweet sweet luxuries, such as hairdryers and regular showers and a real bed instead of sleeping on someone strange's couch.

so i think im gong to get us a hotel for a couple nights. or bb. depending on the price. yar.

fuckin trevor better send me his goddman number asap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! he never answers my emails !


12:22 pm - 04.15.07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: